Tags

, , ,

With all the rhetoric floating out of politicians at this time of the Olympiad [Greek for four years, sometimes written with a lower case o to distinguish from the Games], I thought I’d spend some time discussing it. Seems apropos to a column on writing.

First, Higbie’s Law of Politics: If a politician says something it’s a lie. Note that I’m not saying politicians are liars, because they almost never say anything.

For example:

  1. trump“Make America Great Again” is content free
  2. “Believe me”—maybe there’s something there. If so, better not
  3. “We are going to stand up for …” Yeah, sure. Like Obama stood up for …
  4. hillary “In addition to growing the economy” is content free
  5. “I am not a crook” means he was for sure
  6. “I did not …” you can be pretty sure he or she did

In the best or worst tradition of political commentators, I will start this series with a few predictions around the election.

  1. If Hillary wins, there will be claims of fraud, vote rigging and such
  2. If Donald wins, there will be accusations of sexism and poor treatment of women
  3. By Summer 2017, there will be calls to repeal the the twenty-second amendment, the one that limits the president to two terms
  4. By the fall of 2017, some 2016-supporters of the candidacy of the winner will be whining that promises were not kept
  5. By the fall of 2017, some 2016-supporters of the candidacy of the loser will be whining, “Don’t blame me, I voted for …”
  6. Comedians and political cartoonists will be having the times of their lives

In a year, I’ll try to remember to check back on these. Since these predictions are so content free, maybe I’ll decide to campaign for Dog Catcher. Nah, better for me would be Cat Napper.   [BTW, pics are form candidates’ own sites.]

